Tragic Loss

It is tragic to lose someone early in life.  I can’t decide if it’s more tragic to lose someone to a bad decision – like drinking and driving or drugs – or to bad circumstances – like an illness or an accident.  Neither makes sense and both shake the community and the people that know them.  And this happens every day, but until it happens to you – or the people that are close to you – you don’t think about it or talk about it or do anything but live your life.

A young man who I knew – I knew both his family and he graduated with my sister who is only 16 months younger than I am – passed away Wednesday morning.  From what I understand – both what my sister told me and what I gathered from Facebook – the young man had overdosed on some type of drug and had been deprived of oxygen for so long while he was in cardiac arrest that they weren’t sure he was going to make it.  He didn’t.

I’m not sure if this was a good thing or not.  According to my sister, if he had pulled through, he was most likely going to be brain dead.

It’s really a tragedy.

I’m not going to say that I understand this.  I have never done drugs.  I don’t understand the appeal of them.  They scare me.  Especially when I hear stories like this one – whether it was an accidental or not.  So many young people that become addicted to drugs don’t find their way out of them.

There has to be another answer.

I’m not sure what it is.  But I know that there are a lot of people that are crushed by the seemingly senseless loss of this young person.  I haven’t seen or spoken to any of the family in ages – although I used to babysit the youngest – but I have to imagine that they are unsure how to handle this as well.

When my sister first told me the news, I told her I didn’t know what to hope for.  And she told me to pray for a miracle.  I am sure that this is not the miracle anyone wanted.  But at least the family and friends are now going to be able to deal with the death and hopefully move on and learn from it.  They won’t have to worry about trying to figure out what the right choice is.

My thoughts and prayers are with the family.  And with all people struggling with drug addiction and problems.  A teacher of mine used elegant words that I would like to quote: “Another soul taken way too soon.  Deeds unfinished, challenges unfinished and works still to be done.”  I’m sure this is something that anyone that has lost someone too early can relate to.

RIP.

Leave a Reply

