The Mailbox

I think that anyone would agree that getting mail – and I mean physical mail in the mailbox, not virtual mail (although a real email is better than spam) – is one of the best things in the world.

When I was in college, seeing mail in my mailbox would automatically brighten my day.  Conversely, not getting mail for too many days in a row could really bring my mood down.

I don’t expect mail anymore – at least not real mail.  I do get a lot of junk mail, which is just plain awful.  When I get real mail, it makes me smile.  A lot.

I have decided to start sending out mail to friends and family just to say hi.  A fun card here, a silly card there, a reminder that I am thinking of them.  It makes me happy.  It makes me feel like (hopefully) I”m going to make them smile.

I got some mail this week (I think it was this week) that was real mail.  But didn’t have the desired effect, necessarily.  I still haven’t decided if I want to share this or not.  We will see.

If you know me in “real” life and want mail from me, let me know – you may get some when you least expect it even if you don’t ask 🙂

Do  you like receiving mail?  What is your favorite mail to get?  Did you get a lot of mail when you were in college?

Leave a Reply

