Rest Days

I have been on a crusade to lose weight.  And I am doing a damn good job, if I may say so.  Since October (when I first weighed myself on the Wii Fit Plus with no intention of losing weight) to now (when I have serious intentions of losing weight), I have lost a good amount of weight (and still have a far way to go).

However, I have an issue sometimes.  I have been really good, up until this past week, about always getting in my workouts.  But Sunday, I took a “rest” day for the first time in a long time.  Now, this rest day included some time on Wii Fit Plus and 4 15 minute gentle yoga sessions.  But I still considered it a rest day because I didn’t do any hardcore cardio (like the hour I do on the elliptical or my 45 minute water aerobics class that occur most days). 

I haven’t suffered because of that.  I have worked out and eaten sensibly this week.  But it was Sunday that I took the rest day.  And I’m thinking of taking another one today.  Because, I got a sub job that I wasn’t expecting (and it’s really hard to drag my butt out of bed with enough time to workout and shower when I have to be to school at 7:30 AM).  And I have things to do tonight – commitments that I can’t just neglect.

I still might get a workout in.  But I’m not sure.  And it worries me a little bit.  Because my commitment tonight might lead me to overeat a little bit.  Maybe.  If I can’t help it. 

So, I have a question.  What’s more important: getting in my cardio and not feeling bad?  Or getting to the credit union to cash my check so I can pay my credit card bill?  Taking a rest day and possibly feeling guity about it?  Or working out and not necessarily feeling great about myself and feeling tired at the party?

We’ll see how it goes.  Maybe/hopefully, I will be able to get to the credit union, get in a work out, and be showered and rested by the time I go to the party.  That would be my ideal situation.  It might happen.  I have a few hours after school.  It could happen.  We’ll see.

Do you take rest days while working out?  Should I not worry about today (just get in my workout if I can and if not, think of it as a treat and get right back on track tomorrow)?

Leave a Reply

