The Hunger Games: A Review and Anticipation

I broke down and bought The Hunger Games series last week.  And I read it.  All three books.  Rather quickly.  I devoured them actually.

I have to start by saying: I had extremely high expectations of the books (or at least the first book that everyone has been raving about for so long).  And that might be one of the reasons why I devoured the book (that and the fact that I’m trying to read 52 books in a year – I’m making excellent progress having read 21 since the 1 December 2011).

And I enjoyed the books.  I got drawn in and I was pleased with them.  The first book was fantastic, but it was also slow moving, in my opinion.  My favorite would have to be a toss up between the first and the second book – I don’t know if I could decide.  Because, the first book did take a while to get started, I think.  There was the bombshell in the first chapter, but then I just kept waiting for the action.  And it was hard because I’d heard such great things about it.  The second book had another huge bombshell, but I was so invested in the characters that it moved much more quickly for me.

I didn’t particularly like the third book.  I don’t know why.  I don’t know if I felt slightly depressed by it.  I don’t know if I wanted more answers at the end of it.  I don’t know.  I think it was good to end it – there wasn’t really anything else that could be done with it, but I hated the ending.  I don’t know if I wanted it to end differently or if any ending would have been unsatisfactory.

As a writer, I have always hated ending things.  I never feel quite satisfactory with them.  I don’t know how to do it.  It’s something that I dread in my real life and something that I dread in my virtual life (be it a blog or a television show or a book that I’m reading or writing).  It’s why I often let things just dwindle to an end.  It’s easier that way.

So, I didn’t like the way it ended.  But I would recommend the books.  To anyone that is an older teen (even if it is written for teens) and above.

But here’s the thing that I’m most surprised about.  I am excited for the movie.  I have such high hopes for this movie.  As I read the book (knowing it was going to be becoming a movie, but not really having seen any previews), I thought about what an excellent movie it would make.  Unless they screw this up very badly, this movie is going to be epic and wonderful.  And I can’t wait to go and see it.

This is a first for me.  To actually be excited for the movie.  Because I can see it being fantastic.  Usually I am waiting for the movie to compare it to the book.  But this time, I want to see the movie – badly because I think that it will be fantastic!

Have you read the books?  Will you read them now?  What’s keeping you?  Go buy them and read them before the movie comes out!  Because as excited as I am for the movie, I still think you should read the books first 🙂

Leave a Reply

