Are You A Sound Sleeper?

I am wondering: Are you a sound sleeper?  I am convinced that I do not sleep well.  It goes back to REM cycles and such.  At least I think so.

See, I get a lot of sleep a night.  I mentioned earlier this week that I think my body needs 9-10 hours.  But the problem is, I’m still tired.  I feel tired constantly.  Not knock out, I can’t move around type of tired.  Just, I’m ready to have the day over with at 3 o’clock tired.  Now this won’t stop me from going home and working out after school today.  I will enjoy that and it will be extremely good for me. 

So, I think that my problem is that I am not a sound sleeper.  I didn’t really think I moved around a lot, and I don’t know that that is the problem.  It takes me a while to fall asleep, but that is normal to me.  I think it is my mind just winding down – despite the fact that I am now doing yoga before bed.  I just have a hard time shutting my mind down.  But, the real problem is that I think I wake up in the middle of the night.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  There are definitely times when I DO wake up.  I remember it and it makes me angry.  But I think that I’m waking up more than I think and I think I’m doing it when I am in a non-REM or whatever cycle.  And it’s for such a short period of time that I’m not remembering doing it.  It’s like when you have conversations with your parents after they are in bed and they don’t remember it (and don’t tell me you’ve never done this…because I’m pretty sure anyone that is older than 11 probably has).

So, I don’t think that I’m a sound sleeper.  I don’t know because I don’t remember waking up every night, but on the nights when I recall waking up and going back to sleep (because there are some nights, unusual, that I wake up and can’t fall back to sleep), I’m not any more tired than a normal day.  Which is what makes me believe that I am not a sound sleeper. 

I actually also find it funny that my mother told me that I never slept through the night until my sister, who is 16 months younger than me came home.  So I wonder if this is something that we are born with or not.

What about you?

Are you a sound sleeper?  As you dream and imagine things in your sleep, do you sleep straight through the night?

Leave a Reply

