Morning or Evening?

It’s the quintessential question that tells you so much about a person without really telling you anything about them.

Are you an early bird or a night owl?

I like to think of myself as an early bird.  But I’m not really sure.

I know that I am definitely not a night owl.  Yesterday, I talked about how I need a lot of sleep.  This makes it nearly impossible to be a night owl when I am trying to also hold down a job or do anything productive with my life.

But lately, I’ve loved to “sleep in.”  Now, the definition of sleeping in is different for everyone.  For me, it usually means no later than 830 or 9, unless I have been out particularly late (read midnight) the night before.

It astounds me the people that are able to stay up until 1 or 2 and still function.  What do they do with their time?  How do they manage to last that long?  What is the secret?

I’m not saying I haven’t had some late nights (and I’m sure there will be more to come).  But I can’t do them regularly.  Give me a good book and my bed at 8 o’clock and sound asleep by 10 at the latest and I am a very happy girl.  But wake me up and I can be happy.  I love getting up and working out.  Next week, I will be starting back up with water aerobics from 630-745 and I’m so excited about it!  I love getting my workout in early and done.

So, what say you?  Are you an early bird or a night owl?  Do you think we’re born that way or do you think it’s something that we learn to do as children, from adults?  Maybe even as adults?

Leave a Reply

