Holiday Heartache

I don’t know that the title from above is actually very accurate because I didn’t really have heartache.  It’s true, the holidays can be hard.  It’s hard to shop for everyone you want to get gifts for when you don’t really have an income.  It’s hard to wish that you could have done more, even if you don’t have the means.  It’s hard to split time (even as an adult) between two different parents, while hoping that you don’t get too crazy or out of control and keep your sanity.  It could lead to a lot of heartache.

Of course, I can’t really complain.

I was able to get gifts (even if I had to shop on a budget and need to start trying to figure out what I might want to do for next year since it’s not looking any better).

I was able to spend time with almost all of my immediate family (my brother didn’t come home, but he did come home for Thanksgiving).  And we had a lot of fun.

Maybe we didn’t have snow (we do have a little bit now), but I had family to keep me happy and make me smile.

Maybe I didn’t get everything on my list, but I have to remember that my list was extremely long and ambitious this year…I wasn’t expecting to get everything on my list.

I had a wonderful Christmas!  I loved being able to spend time with my sister, who was up from Pittsburgh.  I wish we lived closer sometimes because I do love to spend time with her.  I was able to appreciate my brothers a little bit more because I am dog sitting and wasn’t around them constantly.  I really have nothing to complain about.

Christmas was wonderful.  New Years will be great as I am spending it at home (as far as I know) and then I hope to go and visit friends in Rochester.  I have nothing to complain about.

I am so glad that I had such a wonderful holiday season – now, I hope that I can really make things happen.  Tomorrow, a post on my goals for the new year!

How was your Christmas?  I know this post was a little scattered, but I truly did have a great Christmas and I’m so glad that it went as well as it did.  Please, let me know what you love most about this time of year – I love the family time that comes with it!

Leave a Reply

