30 Day Challenge: Day 25

Today, on the almost last day of October, I am supposed to talk about someone that fascinates me.  The person I have chosen (although there are many) is Lady Gaga.  She fascinates me because I do not understand her at all.

Let me begin by saying that I enjoy her music.  I find that it has a catchy beat and usually gets stuck in my head pretty quickly.  The music usually has a pretty decent message and she sends out some great messages in some of her songs.  Some of them are the “typical” pop song about hooking up and going out and all of that.  I don’t know what is real.

What fascinates me about her is how she constructs herself.  I don’t know if it’s just an act that she puts on in the public eye or if she is like the way she is 100% of the time.  But she “is” Lady Gaga.  It’s not a stage presense (akin to a pen name for an author).  She really believes that she is that person.  And, I mean this with as little disrespect as possible, she’s weird.  I get that she wants to show her creative side, but as someone who thinks of herself as at least a little bit creative, I can’t be “on” 100% of the time.  Yes, I need to be prepared for an idea to hit 100% of the time, but if I were “on” 100% of the time, I’d go crazy.

I need my me time.  I need to be able to do something other than my art.  I need to be the person that I am – in addition to the art that I create.  And I think that she blurs that line until it is non-existent.  That or I am not understanding her interpretation.

Her music is great.  She has so many people that follow her and believe in her.  And she fascinates me.  Because I don’t “get” her.  I don’t understand why she does the things that she does.  I don’t understand how she becomes this being and then is no longer herself.  You are the product of your past.  And it seems as if she is trying to erase her past by “becoming” Lady Gaga.  I don’t know.  And that is why she fascinates me.

Sorry about not posting on Friday.  Internet issues.  Not sure when they will be resolved so posting could be hard (as I don’t have a fancy shmancy smart phone).  Who fascinates you?  Does Lady Gaga? 

Leave a Reply

