30 Day Challenge: Day 20

I find it so hard to believe that I am 2/3 of the way through my 30 day challenge.  It’s been so great and I’ve enjoyed it so much.  I hope that you guys have all enjoyed getting to know me a little bit better.  If there is anything that you want to know or anything you want to comment on – you have two weeks to give me inspiring new ideas for blog posts.  I am thinking about revamping things again – we’ll see how it all works out.

Anyways, today I am going to write about something that is near and dear to my heart.  If you have read this or you know me at all, you know how near and dear it is to my heart.  Today, I write about the importance of education (or whether I think it is important at all).

Most of you know, my calling is to be a teacher.  I don’t remember honestly wanting to be anything else in my life (well, not seriously anyways).  Recently, I have gotten some new ideas in my head for things that I want to do outside of teaching (during summers, weekends, vacations aka some hobbies).  But, I still yearn to have a classroom of my own.  To have kids that I can call my own.  To be the person that I want to be.  And that person is a teacher.

That being said, I think that education is the most important thing in anyone’s life. 

If you think about it, teachers spend more time with your kids than you do once they are older.  Teachers see your children every day of the week and spend 6-8 hours with them (sometimes more if they help to run extracurricular activities).  Your children are going to learn academics from these people.  They are going to learn manners from these people.  They are going to learn life lessons from these people.

That’s right.  You are not the only one that will be teaching your children those pesky life lessons.  Their teachers will be doing it too.

So, yes, I think that academics are extremely important.  As a self-professed geek/nerd and a majorly high strung, slightly OCD, a little bit uptight person (I have gotten better, I promise…but it was real bad in high school), academics are extremely important to me.  But, I don’t think that is the most important thing that teachers do.

When I think about why I want to be a teacher, it is not to make sure that kids know every math fact or can write an essay without a single grammatical error.

When I think about why I want to be  a teacher, it is not because I get summers off and I don’t have to work on weekends (or snow days!).

When I think about why I want to be a teacher, it is not because of the academics.

It is because I can help to shape a person.  I can show them what it means to care.  I can show them how to persevere through trials, even when the outcome isn’t what they want.  I can show them how to be sad, but still be productive.  I can show them productive ways to use their emotions. 

I can teach them.

Not only math, writing, reading and all of those other great subjects.  But I can teach them about life.  And about how to be a good person.

Education is not just about the academics.  And anyone that tells you different is wrong.  Education is about the whole person.  It’s about learning and socializing and living.  It’s about creating a whole person.

And that is why education is the most important thing to me (and should be the most important thing to everyone else).

And that is why I want to teach.

What do you do?  Do you believe that education is the most important thing to anyone?  Did you ever want to be a teacher?  What are your most prevalent memories of teachers?

Leave a Reply

