30 Day Challenge: Day 19

Today, I have to talk about my biggest regret in life.  I have two.  I mean, I have more – silly ones that wouldn’t necessarily change my life at all – but the two that I am going to talk about are my biggest and could have changed my life if I had done something different.

My first regret is that I stopped running.  When I was in middle school, my friend talked me into running cross country.  I did and I loved it.  I loved running and I was pretty good at it.  When I moved to the high school, I didn’t like the JV/Varsity coach – he scared me or I didn’t like the way he coached or something, I don’t really recall, but I didn’t continue to run – I stopped.  I’d like to get back to running, but every time I try, I get frustrated because I am not running as fast as I used to.  I have a plan to start running again, but I need to get back in shape.  I think that if I had kept running, I would be in better shape, I might have more confidence in not only my body but in my life.  I don’t know if this is true, I can’t change the past – but I am getting back to working out.  I am just focusing right now on working out – I have an elliptical that I use and I am also doing water aerobics.  Come the new year, I might start running again.  I’d like to start running again.  I hope I can manage to do it well.

My second regret is more deep-seeded and something that I don’t necessarily know how to fix.  I wish I had taken more risks/hadn’t been so uptight when I was in high school and college.  I have gotten better – and I got better during college, getting outside of my comfort zone a little bit and making sure to have some fun.  But I wish I had taken more risks and been more light hearted – especially during high school.  I wish that I would be able to put myself out there more.  I realize that I have a lot of things that I need to do in order to make things happen with that.  But I feel like if I had been a little more open during high school, it would have blossomed more…and again, I might be more confident.

So, those are my two regrets.  I guess I could regret more and worse, but this is what I have to share.

What is your biggest regret?  Any similar regrets?  What are your biggest regrets?

Leave a Reply

