10 Day Challenge: Day 5

Today is day 5 of my 10 day blog challenge.  If you missed day 1, you can read about 10 secrets here.  If you missed day 2, you can read about 9 loves here.  If you missed day 3, you can read about 8 fears here.  If you missed day 4, you can read about 7 wants here.  Today, I write about 6 places.  I sort of wish that this were Monday’s blog post instead of today’s because I am going to Pittsburgh for the first time this weekend and I have only heard wonderful things about it, so I don’t know if that could be something that I would add to the list if I were writing this after that…I’ll let you guys know either way.

Place #1: Binghamton, NY.  There is something special about the place where you spend your formative years.  I live outside of Binghamton now and not in the city, but I did actually live in Binghamton for the beginning of my life.  For that reason, and because they are home to the Binghamton Senators who I love and faithfully cheer for, Binghamton will always hold a special place in my heart.

Place #2: Niagara University.  Again, I think that this has a lot to do with how much this place formed me and helped me to grow.  Without this place, and many of the surrounding areas, I would not be the person that I am today.  I think that Niagara University will always be the most magical place on Earth for me.  I can’t imagine my life without it and I love going back to visit.  As they renovate and change, I hope that I continue to have this feeling when I go back to visit (which I will probably do for the rest of my life).  I also love it’s proximity to Niagara Falls, Lewiston, and Canada.

Place #3: Nashville, TN.  I have wanted to go to Nashville for a very long time and I finally got to visit for the first time this past summer.  And I can’t wait to go back.  I don’t know how much I would enjoy living in Nashville, but the hospitality that I felt from all sides and the live music that was constant throughout it made me feel happy and so excited to be there.  This is someplace where you are bound to have fun if you have a love for music – especially country music.  You must put it on your list of places to visit.  And downtown Nashville was clean (a little crowded) and friendly.  It will be a place that I will visit many, many more times in my life.

Place #4: Anywhere with friends.  This might seem like a cop out, but I have enjoyed so many different times and places with friends that I can’t pinpoint one specific thing.  There have been various camping trips to state parks in New York, there have been trips while at school and trips while not at school.  I find that as long as I am with friends, I am happy and when I am happy, it doesn’t matter where I am.

Place #5: Alaska.  I have never been to Alaska, but there is something about it that I find attractive.  Maybe it’s the fact that they have super long days in the summer and super short days in the winter.  Maybe it’s because it is so far removed from the rest of the United States (I mean, Hawaii is too, but I also have a bit of a fascination with Canada thanks to my time at NU and you almost can’t get to Alaska without realizing that you are over or going through Canada).  I hope to visit Alaska someday – maybe a winter visit and a summer visit to compare and have fun with it.  I have also seriously considered putting in an application to teach in Alaska – thoughts on this people?

Place #6: The Niagara River Gorge.  I had to put this on here – although it could probably fall under my Niagara University category – because it could really be any gorge or nature walk, the gorge at Niagara just holds the most memories for me.  I love being able to walk outside and get in a workout while chatting with friends and enjoying the scenery.  If you walk the upper parts and lower parts of the gorge, you get two completely different views and two completely different workouts.  And it can be so peaceful that you can’t help but smile.  To this day, one of my favorite pictures from school is a picture that I took with two friends from freshman year (that I don’t speak to anymore, but I hope they are both doing well) when we went and sat on a cliff (that we probably shouldn’t have gone on) and set my camera on self-timer and it snapped a picture of the three of us with our feet hanging over the edge.

Me on Niagara Gorge

I couldn’t find a picture of the three of us (it’s buried somewhere on my external hard drive) but this is just me on the same cliff alone when friends came to visit sophomore year (they didn’t want to go out on the cliff).  Great thinking spot.

There they are.  My 6 places.  It was a lot harder than I thought.  Do you share any of these places (or similar places)?  Would you be scared to go out on the cliff (there may or may not have been a guard rail that was supposed to keep you from getting onto it)?  I am off to Pittsburgh for the weekend (will be back Tuesday sometime, but am still planning on posting on Monday and Tuesday)…maybe I will want to add it to my list?!?  Enjoy your weekends and any special places that you might be headed (either locally special to you or further away special to you).

5 thoughts on “10 Day Challenge: Day 5

Leave a Reply

