Ooops!

Okay, so I told all of you that I was going to post my pictures for my 365 project every Sunday.  I didn’t get to it this Sunday – oops!  Unfortunately, I am allowing myself the opportunity to give myself a break on this one because it was only a few days.  So, instead, I will have an extra large picture post this coming up Sunday.  It will be like a week and a half’s worth of pictures.  And I’m okay with that because I have kept up with my pictures, but this past Sunday was crazy (I’ll talk about it later).

I also said that I was going to start my blog challenge today, but here I am not doing it – oops!  I have decided that I want to recount my Sunday (because of how crazy it was) and the beginning of my September because as awful as August was and made me doubt myself and become upset about a whole variety of things, September (even in these first 5 days – since today hasn’t really happened yet) has brought great joy and what could be some really healthy and good changes for the year.  So, I will start my blog challenge tomorrow, I promise.  I’m excited about it and it will work, I just need to recount what has been going on with me.

Let’s start with Sunday (although we’ll have to go back for the beginning of September when we are done).  Sunday was a bittersweet day.  I had to say goodbye to the music minister at our church.  A man that has helped to shape me into the woman I have become and has supported me so much that I am sad to see him go.  We also had a family party (well, they aren’t really family, but they basically are).  Well, I was hoping that the family party wouldn’t last that long (because I had to make my poster for the Jake Owen concert), but we ended up being there until 9:30 maybe a little later and I was already tired and hadn’t even started my poster.  So, Sunday was good, but I didn’t get things done like I had wanted to – thus, no picture post.

Now, let’s go back to the beginning of September.  I had plans (throughout the beginning of September) to have launch Operation: Sign My Poster.  This was an operation that had me making posters for all of the bands that I saw and trying to get all of the artists to sign them.  I was very successful.  I went 3/3 on Operation: Sign My Poster and got 2 meet and greets.  It was really great.  I do wish that I had been able to get a meet and greet with Jake Owen, but I was front row for his show and he was so great and I loved every second of it.

So, the first concert was Steel Magnolia.  That show was really great, but it was a little crazy too because Big Time Rush was playing at 8 PM and there were A LOT of teeny boppers there that wanted to see that show.  I managed to snag a meet and greet by chatting with a girl that was clearly there for Steel Magnolia and got to meet them and they signed my poster and were SO nice.  Then, I went up and made friends with one of the teeny boppers so that I could stand right up in the front for the show.  I had such a great time and I’m so glad that I went.

This was also the day that I walked around the fair a little bit.  When we got there, we saw Wild About Monkeys.  It was not that great.  It wasn’t awful, but it wasn’t great either.  We moved on to see the butter sculpture, the sand sculpture and the African Acrobats – who were absolutely AMAZING!  Then, we went and saw the Steel Magnolia show and headed back home. The sand sculpture this year was AMAZING!  I loved it.  It was a tribute to 9-11 and it came out really well.  When I went up on Thursday they were completely finished with it and it was a beautiful tribute to everyone that was affected and all of those that helped!  Please enjoy this slideshow that I am going to put up of the sculpture.

On Friday, I went back up to the fair to see David Nail perform.  I had wanted to see him while I was in Nashville, but then I didn’t get tickets – so I’m glad that I was able to go up and see him at the fair.  He put on a great show and I managed to snag a meet and greet again!

Finally, my summer concert series was being wrapped up by going to the Jake Owen concert yesterday.  I planned on going up to camp out all day long and I did just that.  And I am so glad that I did.  It was so much fun and it guaranteed me a front row seat – which was amazing.  It did rain pretty much all day long, but for the most part, I managed to stay pretty dry.  And although it ended up being a 16.5 hour day (with my drive and everything), it was totally worth every minute of the show.  Jake rocked it out and it was so great!

So, I have had a busy start to September.  In addition to all of this, I have two job interviews (well, one is scheduled and one I just heard from yesterday, but wasn’t able to schedule it yet).  I am excited about the possibility of having a consistent job this year and hopefully saving up some money so that I can get ready for grad school and then hopefully be able to get a teaching job here in New York when all is said and done.  I will, obviously, keep all you faithful readers updated about that and how it all goes.

Here is a gallery of pictures from some of my time up at the NYS Fair!

How has your September started?  Are you excited about this new start to a year (I always think in terms of the school year)?  Are you disappointed that I haven’t posted my first entry for the blog challenge yet?  Are you disappointed that you haven’t seen the first of my pictures for my 365 project yet?  Hope you’re all doing great and the beginning of your September has been as great as mine!

Leave a Reply

