Weight Loss: A Goal

I have come up with a goal.  A weight loss goal.  It is an initial goal.  Something that I would like to meet, but I am hoping is under-ambitious.  Yeah, I know, you would think I’d want to start out with a big goal to really kick start things, but I want to start with a goal that is so realistic, it wouldn’t surprise me if I surpass it (but I won’t be upset if I only meet it).  By the end of October, I would like to lose 10 pounds.  To lose one pound, I have to burn 3500 calories.  So, in order to lose 10 pounds, I am going to have to burn 35,000 calories between now and the end of October.  I am hoping that I am able to do this in a variety of ways.

First, I am going to come up with an eating plan.  I have sort of begun to do this, in that I have been planning what I will have for dinner.  This is actually kind of cop out because it actually just means that I get to have what I want to eat for dinner because my mother asks me and my brothers that are at home (one that should be and one that, like me, shouldn’t be) what we want for dinner…and I got sick of coming up with things last minute, so I’ve started coming up with things a week in advance.  But I need to get more of a plan.  I need to come up with breakfast plans and lunch plans and snack plans.  I’m not going to go into too much detail about what what it is yet, at least not necessarily.  I mean, I’m going to try and have it be more healthy than what I’ve been doing, but not worry about anything too much.  And I think that making sure that I eat regularly is going to be a big deal for me as well.

Second, I am going to come up with an exercise plan.  I want to exercise every day.  I have two sets of dumb bells that I can use – but they are light.  But I want to come up with ways to use my body to do strength training exercises.  I want to use my elliptical (once we get it put together).  I want to go do some “hiking” (and I put hiking in quotes because it would more like trail walking, but I want to do it).  I want to do boot camp type of things.  I want to have a variety.  I hope that I can achieve this.

And third, I want to be flexible.  If I get off track a day, that’s okay.  If I want to splurge and have some sweets, I can do that.  I think the most important thing for me in this is to make it attainable.  And if I work at it, I should be able to lose 10 pounds by the end of October without a problem.  It shouldn’t be something that I fail at.  I can’t fail at it.  Because if I fail at it, I will be miserable about it.

So, that is my plan.  I start tomorrow.  I’m going to look for a boot camp-esque workout to do, unless we can get my elliptical together, in which case I am going to use that.  The type of program I am looking for is something that combines cardio and strength training…I was just reading an article in Fitness magazine about a circuit type of thing where you do 1 minute spurts (with no rest) of strength then cardio – 15 of each, which would be 30 minutes (at least I think).  And I would like to find something that like…maybe it’s just about finding strength exercises and then cardio exercises that I can do.  Maybe I’ll go to Fitness magazine’s website and have a look.

Oh, and I want to buy a pedometer soon.  I don’t have any money right now.  I am literally going to use the last of the money in my bank account – and then probably still charge some – in order to put gas in my car and buy tickets to the State fair so that I can go and see the country artists that are going to be there that I want to see.  So, when I get money, I am going to buy a pedometer and once I do, I am going to aim for 10,000 steps a day – and that is without my exercise.

Those are my goals.  I have a lot of things that I want to do with my money when I get it though – and no reliable source of income in the near future that I know of yet.  So, we’ll see how it all turns out.  I’m worried and scared and anxious about failing.  But I need to push myself to do something for me.  And this is something I want to prove to myself that I can do.  And I’ll give myself “prizes” for each goal I meet – maybe this prize will be a good pedometer.  We’ll see, I’ll keep you posted.

What do you think of my goal?  As someone who has never worked out with a concrete goal of losing weight, do you have any suggestions?  Any programs/workouts that you like to do?  What have you done to lose weight?

Leave a Reply

