Blast From The Past: A Break From The Ordinary

What a title, eh?  I am calling this post such because I am breaking from my ordinary blogging schedule (that has only been going on for 2 weeks, but I am enjoying nonetheless) because I am going away this week.  I wasn’t going to write at all, but I have something I want to talk about today and I have time and I want to explain why I am going to be gone (even if I already have…I’m excited enough that I want to say it again)!

So, I want to talk about motivation real quick.  Not motivation regarding weight loss necessarily (even though this is something that I struggle with).  The motivation I am specifically talking about (although, again the more I think about it, the more it can apply to any situation really) is my writing motivation.  I have been participating in NaNoWriMo for a couple of years now and plan to do it again this year – and that program is GREAT motivation for those who want to pants it and are just going to write.  But where do you find motivation for your plan if you don’t want to do that?

Personally, I try to keep ideas (very VERY brief like one sentence prompts) written in a computer file.  Something I can draw on when I need some ideas.  However, I have an idea…a really great idea (at least I am thinking it could be great)…but I was stuck in my more intimate planning stages and coming up with ideas for characters.  Well, this weekend (during my glorious trip to visit friends for their birthday – which was almost the perfect weekend), I had some free time and I went and got lunch at a McDonald’s and sketched out roughness for each of my 5 main characters.  I think having these rough sketches (and I do mean rough) will help me with my planning and I’m pretty excited about that.  I am shocked that the motivation came while sitting in a McDonald’s though.  I mean, I’m not going to complain…if for the entire month of November (or September/October while I’m not subbing and am planning it) I have to go to a McDonald’s to be productive I will…it’s not the worst place (as long as I don’t order cheeseburgers in excess every day).

But I was shocked a little bit.  But I’m glad I got that out.  I am hoping that in my next leg of my journey this summer, I have more motivation and get some more planning done while I’m doing things because I think I could get some really good ideas from my trip this coming week.

So, I am going to be gone because of my trip to Nashville.  I know that I’ve talked about this before, but it’s actually happening.  I am leaving to go to my friend’s house tomorrow and we will leave about 1ish, maybe a little before probably a little after.  From there, we will drive to Cincinnati and spend the night at one of her friend’s aunt’s house.  Then, we will wake up and drive to Nashville!!!  While in Nashville, we are going to do the redneck comedy bus tour, visit the Country Music Hall of Fame and RCA recording studio, and tour the Grand Ole Opry.  We are going to go to the Wildhorse Saloon.  I am hoping to go to lower broadway to some of the honkytonks or to just find a good bar with great music one night.  I think it’s going to be a really great trip and I’m so excited about it!!  I will definitely be writing about it and will be posting pictures – I’m thinking I’ll probably be taking a whole lot.  If you would like to follow my trip, I would say check me out on twitter (@emconroy15) as I’m sure that I will be tweeting updates and excitement the whole time!

That being said, I have some packing to do or start to organize, a nap to take, lunch to eat and then taking my baby brother (who turns 17 today and is so not really a baby anymore) for ice cream.

Where does your motivation come from?  Have you ever received motivation from an unusual source (like me at McDonalds)?  Is there anything I have to see while on my short trip to Nashville?  Enjoy your week, friends – I’ll be back to regularly scheduled blogging next Monday!

Leave a Reply

