Creative Writing: An Introduction

Creative writing is something that I love to do.  It is something that some day, I hope to make a supplemental income with.  It is something that I hope to hone as I try to write more outside of my comfort zone.  I am also extremely cautious in this endeavor, because I have not shared my creative writing with many people for fear or rejection.

My prompt for today is: If I see one more door that leads to one more useless room, I’m going to dance down the hall and hope someone catches me.  I obtained it from NaNoWriMo’s forums.  I chose this prompt because I think it is interesting and because it reminds me of Harry Potter, which is so close and dear to my heart (very close today as I am going to a double feature of both parts of Deathly Hallows tonight).  As a disclaimer, any resemblance to Harry Potter is incidental and I mean no plagiarism/copyright.  All writing is a rough draft, I will not be editing today.  All writing is of my own design and belongs to me.  Please do not reuse it without my permission.  Thanks and enjoy!

They had told me to run and to hide.  They had told me that I would find the room where I should stay behind the door.  They had told me that it would all work out and that I would be safe.  But that hasn’t worked out at all.  If I see one more door that leads to one more useless room, I’m going to dance down the hall and hope someone catches me. 

I had run just like they told me to.  But when I ran away from the room we’d been in, I had entered a hallway.  It was a hallway filled with doors that were all exactly the same.  Some of the doors were locked.  Some of the doors were not locked.  I had already made it halfway down the hallway and had still not found a single room behind the doors.  I had found closets filled with junk.  I had found animal cages that were empty.  I had found computers and electronics that filled every square inch of the space.  But I hadn’t found even one room, let alone a room with everything that I would need to be safe.  And if I didn’t find what I was looking for soon, I was going to give up.  Because if I didn’t choose to give up, I was going to be caught anyway.  There was no way that they were going to be able to keep them from getting into this hallway much longer and if they hadn’t figured out that I was missing before this, it wouldn’t be long before they did.

I was beginning to panic.  My heart rate was really starting to pick up and I was beginning to really get scared that I wasn’t going to make it to the room where I was supposed to be.  I was actually pretty sure that I wasn’t going to make it to any room that had space for me.  And even if I did, they were going to just be able to open the door and find me.  Then, I don’t know what would happen.  As my heart pounded in my chest and my hand reached out to turn the next knob, I noticed that this door was different than the others.  This door had no lock and the handle was a different color, slightly more shiny than the other silver knobs.  My heart was really racing as I waited to see if the knob would turn.

It did.  And as I opened it, I knew that this was where I was supposed to be.  As soon as I could see, I noticed that there was a huge room behind this door.  There was food stockpiled on shelves, a bed, a sink, a bathroom and anything I might need.  I quickly slammed the door behind me and noticed that their was a lock on the inside.  I locked it and hoped that no one had heard me slam the door.  And then, I started investigating further.  They were right.  I would be fine in this room.  But it would be lonely all by myself.  I wasn’t sure how long I would be able to last here.  I put my ear to the door to see if I could hear outside, but I wasn’t sure.  It was silent.  If anyone was out there, I couldn’t hear them.  But if it was just still empty, like it had been before I had entered it, then there was nothing to worry about.

My heart started racing again.  I decided to turn on the TV and try to calm down.  The picture surprised me.  It was the hallway.  I changed the channel.  As I flipped through the channel, I realized that each of the doors I had opened showed up.  Then, just before getting back to the hallway, our old room came up.  I gasped when I saw the picture.  I wasn’t going to be able to see them, but I would be able to save myself and escape hopefully.  It might take some time, but I really did have everything that I would need.  Now, I just had to wait…

There it is.  My first creative writing excerpt.  Do you like to write creatively?  Do you have any suggestions about this piece?  What would make it stronger?  What makes it weak?  What would come from you if you followed this writing prompt?

 

Leave a Reply

