A Facelift for My Blog

This will be my 322nd blog entry, almost an entire year’s worth of blog entries.  More than a full school year’s worth of blog entries.  And I’ve been pretty successful, in my opinion.  I have written, re-evaluated what I was writing and learned so much from this.  I think one of the best things I’ve learned from this is that names are really important.  And I wish I had been able to come up with a better name for this blog, but it made sense to me when I started this – even if what I wanted didn’t come true.  And it really has been my life – trying to figure out how to dance in the rain.

I have given this blog a facelift before.  When I first started writing, I wanted to write all the time, every single day.  But I found myself getting a little bit down because I was getting any readers.  So, I decided to drop weekends because everyone deserves a break sometimes – even from things they love.  Because there is a such thing as too much of a good thing.  And I don’t know how accurate the readership is, and I still don’t have very many readers, but maybe that will change as I do this facelift and change some of my blogging practices.

But now, now it’s time for another facelift.  I have been thinking about doing this for a while.  Something to challenge me and to help me hone my writing skills a little bit.  Something that would keep me motivated and writing even when I might not necessarily feel like it.  Something that might get me more readers – even if only on certain days.  And something to help me find a way to voice my opinions better.  Because it’s not wrong to have an opinion and to disagree with people and I need to start being more vocal about how I feel.

So, here’s the basic outline – and this may change if it doesn’t work out or if I find something else that I am really interested in writing about – of how I think things are going to work.  Every day will be a different theme (for lack of a better word).  The themes will be able to cover a wide variety of topics, which I think will help keep me interested in writing about these things and keep me from running out of things to write about.  These are all things I am interested in or think that I need to be more interested in as a grown person.

Monday: Healthy living.  I want to become healthier.  I really am trying and I think that by devoting a day to healthy living – either talking about my own lifestyle (and changes I want to make) or articles about what is healthy and what isn’t or whatever might come from it – I will be more successful.  And I really hope that this helps and that I enjoy doing it.

Tuesday: Education.  I am clearly in love with education.  I want to be a teacher.  I again, want to be aware of what is going on in the world of education.  I want to talk about my experiences in the education world – trying to find a job, my journey as a substitute, my time in my own classrooms.  I want to talk about how my friends feel about education and their journeys as I can relate to them and live through them at times.  The education world is changing.  I want to document some of these changes, my reactions to them and how they affect me and the world around us.

Wednesday: Current events.  When the Casey Anthony verdict came out – and any other big news, really – I wrote about what I thought about it and also how I felt that I needed to get more information and stay more in tune with the news.  I will either read an article or watch the news and comment on something that I see.  Talk about my opinion of it and what I think about it.  Just to get more into current events.  I feel like it’s an adult thing and I really enjoy being “in the know” and being aware of what’s going on.  This can be about anything that is in the current news.  I’m going to say, within the week since I will be writing once a week about it.

Thursday: Creative writing.  For this day, I will either take a creative writing prompt that I find online (I will always give credit from where I find it or where I got it from) or I will do some character development for stories I’m writing or background for stories I’m writing.  It will be some type of creative writing to help me out.  If I ever think that I want to publish a novel, I need to begin honing my skills and since I have no professional way to do it yet, practice will help.

Friday: Grab Bag.  This will be like what this blog has been about so far.  It will be whatever I feel like writing about that day.  I think it’s important to keep this in here because there will be things that don’t fit into my blog that I want to write about.  Things like trips I might be taking, overviews of trips I’ve taken, movies I’ve seen that I really like, books that I want to recommend, things I want to accomplish.  My 30 before 30 progress will be listed here.  New adventures.  A day that isn’t completely structured and allows for some freedom.

I know that some of these will overlap with each other and that some of them will seem out there and like they don’t belong at all.  But I am hoping that I will start using tags in my posts and be better about publishing and putting it out there.  Another part of honing my writing skill is to share it with people and not keep it to myself.

I think that one of the reasons that I am able to do this is because I have started another more personal blog.  I started blogging at 750words.com (check it out if you haven’t heard of it).  And I love it.  Part of what I love so much about it is that I can blog there about anything.  It really is my sounding board and I don’t have to censor myself there about anything.  So, I think that’s why having a more structured blog will work out.  And, like I said, I think it will help me reach my goals and be more structured and disciplined in my writing – which I think might ultimately help me in what I might want to become a part-time, temporary writing career.

What do you think about my blog facelift?  Do you think I will be successful and able to keep it up?  Do you like my categories and/or think that I should change them at all?  Next week, I will probably do introductory posts for each topic although I realize that I kind of explained each one and why I want to do them, but just to introduce a little more why they are so important to me.  Please continue reading to see what happens!!

Leave a Reply

