Magic Part II

I told you yesterday that I was going to analyze the whole quote that I had started analyzing yesterday.  And as promised, I am going to.

You know, I do believe in magic. I was born and raised in a magic time. In a magic town. Among magicians. Most everybody else didn’t realize – we lived in that web of magic. Connected by the silver filaments of chance and circumstance. But I knew it all along See, this is my opinion – we all start out knowing magic. We are born with whirlwinds forest fires, and comets inside us. We are born able to sing to birds and read clouds and see our destiny in grains of sand. But then we get the magic educated right out of our souls. We get it churched out, spanked out, washed out, and combed out. We get put on the straight and narrow and told to be responsible. Told to act our age. And you know why we were told that? Because the people doing the telling were afraid our wildness and youth. And because the magic we knew made them ashamed and sad of what they’d allowed to wither in themselves. After you go so far away from it, you can’t really get it back. You can have seconds of it. Just seconds of knowing and remembering. When people get weepy at movies, it’s because in that dark theater, the golden pool of magic is touched. Just briefly. Then they come out into the hard sun of logic and reason again and it dries up, and they’re left feeling a little heart-sad and not knowing why. When a song stirs a memory. When motes of dust turning in a shaft of light takes your attention from the world. When you listen to a train passing on a track at night in the distance and you wonder where it might be going. You step beyond who you are and where you are. For the briefest of instants, you have stepped into the magic realm. That’s what I believe.

Isn’t it just a great quote?  I completely fell in love with it when I heard it on the season finale of One Tree Hill last week and then spent quite a bit of time trying to find the quote so that I could actually have it and comment on it.

First of all, I think that quote is fantastic and I think it’s completely true.  The only part that I don’t really want to believe is the part about the magic being educated out of you, although I can see how much it is true.  I have said before that kids are born with a natural curiosity (in this case, magic) and that a lot of times it gets squashed out when they are taken under the wing of the education system and have to make things happen according to standards that have to be met in the society that we are living in today.

I think my favorite part of the quote is where it talks about how adults still get glimpses of the magic – at movies, with songs, with the shift of the light.  And I think it’s important to note that it does still happen.  And I think it would be interesting to see what people have to say about how often they think they experience the magic.  I think it happens in books today.  And all of those adults that create those escapes, I think they can tap into the magic a little bit easier than other adults.  Maybe this isn’t true.  Maybe they just acknowledge it more.

But this quote just makes me smile.  It makes me happy.  It makes me believe in the magic.

But it’s also a conundrum to me.  Because I was probably the most “responsible” of my siblings.  And I think that I might also be the one that can most see the magic.  But that is my thinking and it could be wrong.

Do you love this quote as much as me?  Does it make you happy and make you believe in magic the way it makes me?  Do you have glimpses of the magic in your life?  When was the last time you experienced a touch of the magic?

Leave a Reply

