Flexible Flittering

I am not talking about any random flexible flittering that has occurred.  No, I am going to be very specific here in my flexible flittering (which, apparently isn’t a work, but it is for my purposes today and I hope you understand what I mean by it, and I would be happy to explain if you do not).

I am, as most of you know by now, a substitute teacher.  I am doing this while I try to figure out what is going on with my life/get a full time teaching job/figure out what I am doing for my Masters.  Mostly, I am trying to just make money and survive until I can get a full time teaching job.  And I know that I have talked about how I might leave the teaching profession, but every time I think that, I get what could be a VERY confusing message from someone about how I should just stay put.  Right where I am.  And that I will get a full time job right here if that is the case.

Two days this week, I have been pulled from the classroom that I thought I was going to be in, the classroom that I was supposed to be in and assigned to be in, and put into the Special Education classrooms that were in the school.  On Monday, I was put into the 12:1:1 classroom and today I was put into the 8:1:1 classroom.

So, it’s been me being flexible and helping where they needed to put me.

But it’s also been me feeling guilty about being put in someone else’s classroom when I was supposed to be somewhere else, especially (and definitely moreso) today than Monday.  Because I had gone over the plans with the teacher for today so I would be prepared.  And I just felt awful.

But all of that is in the past, and I did what I had to do, and I can be seen in the eyes of the teachers and principals as someone who is willing to do what I need to do and who is willing to get a little bit dirty if I need to.

I guess it’s all good and fine in the end.

What do you think about my situation?  Do you think that I have anything to be upset about?  Should I be feeling guilty about the teachers that I didn’t get to go in for, that I got pulled from?

Leave a Reply

