Catching Up With Old Friends

It’s amazing to me the amount of time that I get caught up in life and feeling sorry for myself when I have so many great friends already.  I know that it’s hard when those friends are not down the street – or even a quick car ride away – but a few hours away and only available by phone.  And I know that I am lucky to have friends that I can call and catch up with, even when I haven’t talked to them in a while.  Only the luckiest people have the opportunity to meet friends that they will keep for the rest of your life.  And I am lucky enough to have quite a few of these friends in my life.

I say all of this because I got the chance to chat with one of those friends tonight.  I don’t get to see her very often – and I sometimes forget how much I love having her as a friend when things get rough – but talking with her and hanging out with her (which we will hopefully be able to plan soon) are things that fall right back into place when I (or she) need it to.  It’s so great to know that I have a life-long friend in her because we have been through a lot together…and it’s not often that you find someone that you’d be willing to replace your family with.

So, I’m not going to say anything else today, even though this is an extremely short post, because I want to revel in the deliciousness of my friendship with this great friend of mine.  To not be bogged down by the little things in life and just do what I have to so that I can be happy right now.

Do you have friends that you can’t catch up with nearly enough?  Do you have friends that aren’t near you anymore, but are life-long friends that you are glad you’ll never be without?  What do you do when all your good friends are far away?

Leave a Reply

