Spirit of a Storm

I don’t know if you’ve ever heard Kenny Chesney’s song “Spirit of a Storm” (if you haven’t you should go youtube it), but it describes my life perfectly to me right now.

To me, the song describes much of how my life has gone – at least my life as I remember it.  It’s not to say that I haven’t had great days, weeks, months at a time; but that’s not what the song says.  It’s to say that whenever things seem to look up, something comes in and makes it seem not so great anymore.  At least, that’s what I get from the song.

I wouldn’t think that I would relate so well to this song, since I tend to be more of an optimist; but I guess that’s what doing something you don’t love can do to you – especially when you’re putting in a ton of work, but others aren’t.  And things just haven’t been going as I want them to be lately…and I know it’s foolish to get upset about that, but it’s how I feel right now.

The lines that have really spoken to me lately are the following:  There’s a spirit of a storm in my soul/And every time I think it’s gone away/The dark clouds gather that old wind begins to blow/The sun is gonna shine someday, I hope/But there’s a spirit of a storm in my soul

To me, these lines still have optimism, but it just shows the hard times that are happening…and that’s how I feel right now.  Hopefully, the sun will shine sooner rather than later.

Is the sun shining for you right now?  Can you relate to this song?  The specific lyrics I posted?  Do you think these musings make me a pessimist – because I really don’t want to be a pessimist and I know that things will turn around soon – or am I still an optimist at heart?

Leave a Reply

