Sing Me Home: A Review

I am going to do my best to not give anything away in this review, but I would like to post a few of my comments about the new Jodi Picoult book, “Sing Me Home.”

I would like to begin by saying that I was very excited about this book.  I am a huge fan of Jodi Picoult and I really loved her last book “House Rules.”  so, I had some very high hopes for this book.

My favorite thing about Jodi’s books are the twists that I don’t normally see coming.  The controversial items that she puts into her stories without overwhelming the reader and pulling them into the characters so fully that you can’t put the book down until you get it finished.

I was disappointed in this book.  It was good.  And I finished the whole thing in a pretty quick period of time, but it just didn’t hold my attention or keep me hooked the way her books normally do.

First of all, I got the book on my Barnes and Noble Nook and the music that came along with it did not work.  So, for me, the music was a non-part.  I tried to listen when it came to that part and it was recommended, but I couldn’t always do that.  I don’t think the music was horrible, but it wasn’t anything great either.

I have told my mother, and a few other friends, that I feel like I was just too middle of the road for the book.  There are many controversial issues and I felt like the two sides of the issues were too far extreme for me.  The couple that used to be married splits up and the woman marries another woman and the guy becomes a very conservative church-goer.  These two sides were just too much of the extremes for me and I had issues with it keeping my attention.

Also, I was able to figure out the twist before the end of the book, which shocked me and let me down a little bit.

All of that being said, I didn’t think the book was horrible and I will be going through and recording the passages that I marked that I loved.

I also really enjoyed the ending.  It was a classic Jodi ending to me, but I really liked it.

Overall, I would recommend it to people, but I guess I would tell them to not necessarily expect the normal Jodi book from it.

Are you a Jodi Picoult fan?  Have you read this book?  Did you enjoy it?  Would you recommend it to someone else?

Leave a Reply

