Reality vs. Future

This was my horoscope from yesterday:

Life always involves a balancing act between how things are and how you’d like them to be. On the one hand, you have to recognize reality for what it is. On the other hand, you have to be able to visualize ways it could be better. The thing to avoid is imagining reality as something that it isn’t. You won’t fall into the trap of wishful believing as long as you’re vigilant.

Pretty fantastic, right?  It really got me thinking.  Because I agree with it.  100%.

Everyone wants to be the best they can be.  In order to be the best, you have to constantly work to achieve the next goal.  It is important to know what the next step is and to keep the dream alive, while staying rooted in reality.

You can’t get better if you can’t see how things can be better.  Being content with something is a very dangerous trap.  If you are content with something, you won’t fix to make it better.  This isn’t to say that some things aren’t already fantastic, but if you find a way that it can be better, fix it!  If it doesn’t need fixing, you may just need to move on from it.

A musician who has been playing for years isn’t going to go and fix “Hot Cross Buns” – there’s no reason to.  It’s a great song for beginners.  But if all the musician plays is “Hot Cross Buns” they aren’t going to get any better.  They have to move on.

Of course, there is a real danger when you are visualizing your life being better to see your life how it isn’t.  The most important thing to do is to make sure that you are seeing your life as it is.

I am a teacher.  I have not been able to find a “real” job, so I’ve been substitute teaching.  At the beginning of this year, I got a “job” – I was an EK teacher for the first six weeks of school.  Then, I started subbing day to day.  Now, I am an elementary school music teacher for the month of December.  In January, I will be a business teacher at the high school  for 3 months.

It’s great that I’ve got constant work and that the school district is seeing how valuable I am and what a great asset I am.  However, I have to remember that my ultimate goal is to have my own classroom, with my own students.  If I lose sight of this goal, I will not reach it.

What do you think about my horoscope?  Do you agree that there is a dangerously thin line between reality and the future – a line that can be blurred if you don’t stay vigilant?

Leave a Reply

