Asking for Help

Do you ask for help often?

Do you find it easy to ask for help?

Do you thrive on asking people for help?

If so, you are not like me at all.  I don’t like asking people for help.  I don’t like being out of my comfort zone.  And I do not like the idea that I might not be good enough/competent enough for what I am doing.

This is why I don’t like asking for help.  I feel that asking for help makes it seem like I don’t know what I’m doing.  When, in reality, it means that I know exactly what I’m doing.  I know that what I’m doing is not working and I know that I need other suggestions.

As I have started subbing more, I have gotten better at asking for help.  I no longer feel like it’s a bad thing to have to ask for help.

Of course, there are some times when I can’t stand asking for help.  I can’t stand when I am trying to clean and I want it done a specific way – asking for help.  I hate asking for help when I just feel overwhelmed, but given the right time, I could get things done.

And more than anything, I hate asking for help when it comes to money. 

I know that these are things that I am going to have to get over and that it’s important to get used to it now, and I am working on it, but I also know that I am independent.  It’s a part of my nature.  Part of who I am.

Asking for help does not take away my independence.  I need to continue to remind myself of that.  Asking for help is not a bad thing.

Do you ask for help often?  Do you think it’s easy or hard to ask for help?

Leave a Reply

