When The Going Gets Tough…

When the going gets tough…the tough get going.  I think that this can be interpreted two different ways. 

The first way, is that the tough get going on doing something so that things aren’t so tough anymore.

The second way, is that they literally get going and get out of the situation – essentially giving up.

And, of course, “tough” is a very subjective word.  Some people can take things a lot more than others.

So, what do I do when things get tough?  I have multiple coping mechanisms.  I either, ignore the situation (not good!), can think of nothing but the situation (also, not good!) or I try to fix the situation.

Recently, tough for me has meant trying to balance my life between the grown-up I am supposed to be and the childhood I am reverting too living with my mom, younger brother and older brother again. 

For me, it’s been about trying to find friendships, rekindle old friendships, keep up on great friendships, and mend past mistakes.  For me, it’s been trying to keep my head above the current as it tries to pull me under. 

Most of the time, I am successful.  Sometimes, I falter.  Other times, it seems like I won’t make it.

Hopefully, I am the first type of person and I get going on things that will help make things not as tough when the going gets tough.  But I don’t know. 

Hopefully, with the help of my friends (my best friends, my old friends that I have started hanging out with, and my mended frienships), I will make it through everything that is happening and come out much, much stronger.

What do you do when the going gets tough?  Do you agree that there are different types of tough?  Different ways to deal with the situation?  Is there a “right” way to deal with a tough situation?

Leave a Reply

