Sur-prize!

I feel like I am so behind in telling you about my life – and today I’m going to talk about me…and update you on my NaNo at the end.

So, if you recall, at the beginning of October, I wrote an entry about October being National Country Music Month and the local radio station was celebrating with Hawktober.  One of the events of Hawktober was the album avalanche…and I won!!!

What exactly did I win?  I won 40 country CDs (the CDs that they announced on the air and I had to make a list of) and a Nashville Vacation package!  I couldn’t believe it when I listened to the voicemail (the call came, of course, on the one day that I subbed last week).  I was so excited.

I knew which CDs I was going to be receiving, but was still so excited to actually go and get them.  I knew nothing about the Nashville vacation, and let me tell you – it is pretty fantastic and I’m pretty psyched about it!

I thought that the vacation would be for a weekend and just be a cool way to get to Nashville and experience it for the first time.  The vacation is for 5 days and 4 nights and it includes 2 Music City Total Access Attraction Passes (which gets me and my guest into 4 of the top 12 attractions in Nashville).  I think it’s going to be fantastic to go and do this and to really get to experience so much of Nashville while I’m there.

I thought about seeing if my friend wanted to go down (she doesn’t actually know yet since she’s in Africa) during the CMA Fest, but the more I thought about it, I decided against that.  I want to go to the CMA Fest, but I want to do it the right way, and do the CMA Fest the entire time that I am there…but with my vacation package, I want to experience all aspects of Nashville.  So, that’s what I’m going to do.

Anyways, I’m excited and pumped…the only downside is that I have to pay taxes on it; but what is a little bit of money in taxes when I get to go and stay for free in a city that I have always wanted to visit.  I’m sooooo excited!

In other news, my NaNo story is going really well.  I already made it to 50,000 words and am back on track – writing another 5,000 words again today.  I don’t think I’ll get back up to where I had originally wanted to be, but I think I’ll be able to finish the entire story; which is my main goal.

What do you think about my vacation?  Have you ever been to Nashville?  What do you recommend that I do?

Leave a Reply

