Happiness is a mood, not a destination

It’s time to go back to my quotes because I heard the best one while watching my show – One Tree Hill – last night.

JULIAN: People get lost when they think of happiness as a destination.  We’re always thinking that someday we’ll be happy; when we get that car or that job or that person in our lives that’ll fix everything. But happiness is a mood and it’s a condition, not a destination. It’s like being tired or hungry; it’s not permanent. It comes and goes but that’s okay. And I feel like if people thought of it that way, they’d find happiness a lot more often.

BROOKE: So you think it’s okay to be a little miserable every now and then? Even when you have great things in your life?

JULIAN: Is it okay to be a little hungry now and then?

Isn’t it just divine?  I mean, the exchange between Julian and Brooke really make the quote what it is.  And I couldn’t find an exact ending, but Brooke thoughtfully says something along the lines of “Happiness is a mood, not a destination.  I like that”

The best part about this exchange to me is that neither is trying to cheapen what is going on in each others individual lives at the time.  Both are dealing with things that they have to deal with separately and that might not make them very happy; but both also acknowledge that the other makes them extremely happy.

I think my most favorite part of this quote is the end of Julian’s first mini-speech.  About how people would find happiness a lot more often if they thought of happiness as a mood and that it was okay not to be happy all the time.  No one, and I mean no one, can be happy all the time.  There are things that make us sad and angry and worried.  But those are all moods too.  They, too, will come and go; just like happiness.

It was just inspiring to me and I was so excited to have such a great quote coming from the show again because the show has always been filled with great quotes for me (I did a project where I put together some of my favorite for my speaking class at Niagara).

So, what made you happy today?  Or yesterday?  Even if your happiness is fleeting now, know that it will come back.  You’re not hungry all the time (presumably, if you’re in a good situation) and you can’t be happy all the time.  Enjoy it while it is there and relish in the other emotions/moods as they come because they will also leave, and help you to realize just how great your happiness is.

What makes you happy?  Do you love this quote as much as I do?

Leave a Reply

