Defending NaNoWriMo

Yes, I am writing about NaNo again.  I know I said that I wasn’t going to write about it all the time, and I don’t think I will, but I was just introduced to another side of NaNo that I hadn’t realized existed.

I would have to say that I am NaNo participant, but not necessarily the average NaNo participant.  I would like to write a published novel some day.  I think it would be fantastic.  And I think it stems from loving to read so much.  All that aside, I do read the forums on NaNo and I enjoy hearing what other people are saying and doing with their November journeys.  I rarely post on the forums.  I have no writing buddies.  I do not tell a lot of people that I am doing this.  It’s not that I am ashamed.  It’s that writing is a personal thing for me.  I don’t want people asking to read my writing and I don’t want to feel unnecessary pressure…I put enough pressure on myself.

So, today, I saw something that I didn’t know existed.  A backlashing against NaNo.  I thought that there were people who knew about NaNo and chose to do it.  And, of course, people who had no clue what NaNo was.  I was one of those people up until last year.  I had no clue that there were so many people who hated NaNo.

Now, I’m not saying that I don’t understand their point of view, because I do.  As I said before, I am not your average NaNo participant.  NaNo is the push that I need to actually sit down and write.  It’s something that I could do at any time, but NaNo forces me to actually do it if I sign up.  Plus, it has saved me from intense boredom during November.  I have no intentions of sending my book to a publisher.  Especially in the state it is in now.  Which means that if I ever thought that it could be sent out, it would need some serious revision.  My story last year, never got finished (even if my word count made me a winner).

I am not saying that every NaNo winner sends their books out.  I don’t think that a lot of them do.  A lot of people who do NaNo do it for fun (or at least that’s how it seems from the forums).  They have no intentions of ever publishing their story and they take dares like making an 8 page long dream sequence (which would be cut and revised if it were ever really published anyways).

NaNo is not an evil establishment.  It is a kick in the ass for people like me, who apparently need external motivation of some sort to get moving.  It’s a fun activity for people who are writing stories based off of their favorite tv show or novel.  It is a creative outlet to get people doing something other than sitting on their ass and watching video games.  It engages the brain and makes people think.

I believe that NaNoWriMo is a great thing, and I hope that if you haven’t heard about it – even with all of my ranting and raving the past few days here, you go and check it out.  It’s not for everyone.  And it’s not necessarily going to put out the next Nobel prize winner.  But it may just give someone something to do when they are feeling down.  It may just allow people to connect with others who have a crazy dream like them.  It may just give the creative outlet to people who have no other way to get their emotions out.

Back to my novel, which is still making no sense, but is almost up to 10,000 words 🙂

Leave a Reply

