Be Who You Are

I posted this quote as my facebook status this morning (yes, I am a product of the generation of facebook…when I first entered college, facebook was still only for college students, but I digress) and I wanted to include it here so I could tell you about the wonderful thing that happened to me today.

About all you can do in life is be who you are. Some people will love you for you. Most will love you for what you can do for them, And some won’t like you at all.
-Rita Mae Brown

As you might recall, I had an interview this afternoon.  No, I did not get offered a job on the spot.  That would be far too optimistic for me to even think.  I did, however, get a huge ego boost.  Something, which as backwards as it may seem, has me doubting myself a little bit tonight.

As I walked in for my interview (appropriately dressed, but with my wacky hair still in place from the school day), I was greeted with smiles and words that mean a lot to me: I have been getting a lot of calls about you – people are saying wonderful things.  So you should be reassured that people like what you are doing and are noticing what you are doing.

This made me smile.  My interview continued.  I answered the questions.  I told the truth.  I was myself.  I hoped that I would be well-received and well-liked.  And I was.  The principal told me that she hoped she would be able to nab me before someone else did.

This does not mean that I am going to get the job.  I actually don’t think that I will get the “big” job that I was hoping for.  I was one of five people interviewed – three of those people have had other long term sub positions at that school – I have not.  It doesn’t matter how much the principal might have liked me – politics do matter.  I don’t know if I will get any of the long term/extended sub positions that will be opening.  We will see.  I am going to try very hard not to worry.

I am going to try to concentrate on the fact that I was well-received and well-liked.  And that my name is getting out there in a good way.  People are saying good things and I am being noticed.  That makes me smile.  It makes me feel like I will get a job soon.  A real job.  With my own kids.  And my own classroom.  For an entire year.

Have you ever been rewarded by being who you are?  Do you know anyone who you love just because they are the way they are?  Does anyone just not like you?  Do you just not like anyone?

Leave a Reply

