Changing Times: Friendship

It is always difficult when things change (although they inevitably do so).  It is especially hard when you have to leave a friend or a friend leaves you.  Not your friendship, but living physically close to one another.

One of my extremely good friends is leaving on Friday and moving to Florida for law school.  It makes me sad that she won’t be four hours away (when she was still at Niagara for grad school and I had moved home) or four seconds away (when we lived on the same campus, but weren’t great friends) or two and a half hours away (when she was in Rochester and I was at home).  Instead, she is going to be many, many more hours away.   And it makes me sad.

This is a difficult time.  And having friends leave is just one of the things that I need to adjust to and be aware of.  I need to make more friends that are nearby so that my relationship is not with people who are not really near me (because it’s not fun to have no friends where you live).  I need to keep the friendships I have had for years while figuring out what I want to do and also moving on.

And, while it is sad that my friend is moving.  It is another exciting place to visit.  Another place I can put on my list when I have money and I can travel.  It is another thing to do and plan for.  It makes me think of a Sex and the City quote that I am going to leave you with: “After all, things change, so do cities, people come into your life and they go. But it’s comforting to know that the ones you love are always in your heart… and if you’re very lucky, a plane ride away.”

Have you lost any friends to a big move?  Would you be able to survive if you moved far away from all of your friends?


Leave a Reply

