If It’s Not Okay, It’s Not The End

So, I am going to write my entry on how lucky I was to get the interview that I got and to get it at the time that I got it.  As you know, reading my blog I was just about ready to get out of education and do something else – something related to education, but not teaching…which I truly believe is my passion and I don’t want to give up on it.  I was a little uneasy about this – not because I wouldn’t be good or enjoy my new job, but that I would regret not being in the classroom and not being a teacher.

So many people have told me lately that I need to keep chugging along and that something would come along when I needed it to.  And everyone that I worked with would give me praise and tell me that people would be lucky to have me as a part of their staff and a part of their schools.  However, it has become really hard lately, and I think part of it is that I can’t do the things that I want to do and I feel pretty useless when I am sitting around and doing nothing.  And I wasn’t going to grad school for a number of reasons.  The first reason is money – I hate that the world revolves around money, but, unfortunately, it does.  The second reason is that I didn’t want to get my masters and then move and have to spend more money on even more classes because I needed to be certified in a different state.

So, when I got the phone call about a long term sub position, I was pretty excited and pumped that it was happening.  I feel like if I don’t get this though, I will be completely crushed because – like I was telling my friend today – I felt really good about my interview.  Most of the time, it’s not that I feel bad about an interview; but I’ve never had a good feeling like I did when I left this one.  So, I know that I will be completely crushed if I don’t get it.  I am going to definitely have to remember that if it’s not okay, it’s not the end.  I am getting good vibes from myself though and I’m pretty excited to hear back from the school and see what they have to say.

So, to recap.  I was about to get out of teaching because I am not the type of person that can sit around and do nothing – which is what I was doing a lot of the time when I was subbing because it was so unreliable and inconsistent for me.  Then, I got the call for the long term sub position and I have a really good vibe about it.  So, now I am almost back at square one…my original plan is coming true.  My plan was always to come back home and teach (specifically at my home district), and then I went to Niagara and I realized that I did not have to go back home…I’d be okay going anywhere.  But, I’d be happy if I stayed where I am.  And I’d be happy with summers off  – I think I would let my summers be for writing if I really continue and enjoy it.  And I would love to be in the classroom and teaching.  I am really excited to hear about the interview and I’m really hoping that it is good news that I hear because that is what I want.  And I’m going to keep remembering that if it’s not okay, it’s not the end.  Even if I am completely crushed if I don’t get this.

When was the last time that you had a really good feeling about jobs and how things would work out?  What was it about and how did you deal with the waiting?

Leave a Reply

