A More Realistic Look at Summer

This summer, I had a lot of goals that I wanted to reach.  I know that some of those goals will still be met, and I’m extremely happy about that.  I even know that things are probably going to work out for the best…as everyone tells me, they always do (even if you don’t think it’s for the best at the time).  The one thing that I have not been keeping up with…and I don’t think I’m going to keep up with it…is my working out.  There are multiple reasons for this – and I’m sure that there are things that I could change about it to make it work; but I guess I’m just not that willing right now.

First of all, I don’t yet have keys to where I am living for the summer – so I am under the mercy of staying in the apartment for long periods of time when I have no way to make sure I can get back in…or staying out of the apartment for long periods of time because I can’t get into it.  I think we are going to change that soon because I think (especially because I have my car this summer) that I need to be able to come and go as I please…which was part of the reason that I wanted to bring my car.  Second, I am working with and running around with kids from 8:30-5:00 PM every day.  While there isn’t a ton of running around, I am being more active and last week I found that when I was waking up to work out and then drive the half hour to get to camp, I was absolutely exhausted.  This might be because I was out later than I have been.  It might be because it was so hot out.  It might be because I just wasn’t ready for what was about to come.  Either way, I stopped working out.  I stopped doing my workouts in the morning and I didn’t necessarily feel crappy.  I needed to make sure that I was awake enough to watch out for the kids and do what was best for them.  Will I pick my workouts back up this summer?  I am thinking probably not.  I have a lot that I want to plan to do this summer and unfortunately, it is hard for me to plan workouts into that because I need to set aside a lot of time – the time for the workout, a time to shower afterward, and time to get ready for something if I have something going on when I’m done – be it heading into camp or doing something in the evenings.  It takes a lot of time to do a workout and then shower and make my hair look presentable.  It is time that I don’t necessarily have.  So, for now, I am going to put my workouts on hold.  I think that I am going to invest in a gym membership when I get back home and start working out again at that time.  I have to look into a few different places and figure it out…my mom and I tried a Planet Fitness membership but I found that it was too out of the way and I didn’t like the facility – I actually only visited once and then never went back.  I miss the gym at niagara where I was comfortable and could go to work out and I’m sure if I start to go, I will get better about it – so I’m hoping that the fall will do that for me.

Some of my other goals this summer have been moving along nicely.  First, I wanted to write every day – and I have been doing that…even though they have been very short.  Hopefully, I will be able to make some more time for writing once I have some more free reign of my free time.  I think writing has helped me clear my thoughts and try to remember things that are happening and keep me calm.  There are things I haven’t written about…things that I might be scared to write about.  It’s the type of things that you know you aren’t supposed to say aloud because you’re afraid they might make you a bad person.

Unfortunately, in my writing, I haven’t had much time to being planning more for NaNo.  I am definitely still going to do this and I am very excited about the idea that I have.  I think that if I can plan it somewhat that it will turn out really nicely.  I may even think about sharing it with people when I’m done…something that I definitely did not do last year.

The other thing that has worked out almost spookily well is the fact that I got an interview for a long term sub position.  I will write more about this later, but one of my goals was to find something more permanent and constant as a job for the fall.  And while the long term position has the potential to only be for 8 weeks, it will be enough to get me started and established, and possibly for me to find a good base to sub for in the weeks afterward.  Then, maybe I can think about my life starting and getting a place of my own and such.  It will be a fun transition to see what happens with it and I will keep everyone posted on what occurs.

Clearly, I needed more time to reflect because I have written quite a bit here today (especially in comparison to what I had normally been writing).  I am glad that I have been able to stick to this goal of writing every day.  I think that it is good for me and I think it gives me an outlet to just get some thoughts out on paper (or the screen as the case is here) and to just relax and do something that I love.  It is important to me that I do this, even if no one reads it and I’m glad that I’ve kept up with it it.  So this week, look for some posts on some random topics as well as some of the my thoughts (in the long term) about the interview for the long term sub position.

Do you reflect on things as they happen?  Do you give yourselves goals?  Do you sometimes overbook yourself with goals?  What goals do you have for yourself right now?

Leave a Reply

