Exhaustion

I am tired often, but I am very rarely exhausted.  But today, I am truly exhausted.  I feel like I could fall asleep right now and then not wake up again for a few days.  It has been a long and hot first week of camp, with a surprising and unexpected twist for me.

My exhaustion from today stems from the fact that I was with kids and trying not to lose anyone (even though they kept wandering off) at the zoo.  I also didn’t sleep very well last night.  Add into that equation the fact that I had not necessarily been sleeping great and I started my summer job this week and the fact that I got a surprising call to go have an interview and my head starts to spin.  Then, add in the fact that on Sunday I drove 2 1/2 hours to get here.  I drove a 1/2 hour to work and then back to the apartment every day.  Then Wednesday, I had to drive the 2 1/2 hours back home for the interview.  Then drive the 2 1/2 hours back for my job on Thursday.  That is a lot of driving and I was not a big fan of it at all.  Then, throw in high double digits and sometimes triple digit temperatures and everything looks so much worse.  On top of all that, I am PMS-ing…and my one big side effect is that I get really really tired.  So, it has been a long week and I am exhausted and I don’t think my friend is going to be happy when I tell her that I am not going to go out tonight, but I think it would be better for me to get some sleep and be in a good mood tomorrow than for me to go out and be cranky tonight and then also be cranky all day tomorrow and tomorrow night when we go out (since we have plans to do that as well).

So tonight will hopefully be a rejuvenating night where I can just sit and do nothing and relax and sleep…a lot.  Then, tomorrow will be filled with tons of fun!  [Oh can you also throw in the fact that my friend’s roommate has the stomach bug…here’s to hoping it doesn’t hit me at all].

When was the last time you were truly exhausted?  Was it a good exhaustion or a bad exhaustion?

Leave a Reply

