Weight Loss

I used to be tiny.  I mean, I really used to be tiny.  I’m not huge now, but I am not comfortable with my body and I am not comfortable with my weight.  I’ve said before that I am going to lose weight, and I’ve never followed through well.  I’ve decided – again – that it is time for me to lose weight.  It is time for me to concentrate on dropping off the excess pounds that I put on throughout college.  It is also time for me to feel comfortable in my skin again.

That all being said, I don’t believe that weight loss is my final goal.  My final goal is to get in shape again and to be healthy again.  I am going to do this in a variety of ways.  First, I am going to start working out again…this is a great first step!  I used to run.  I loved it.  It was fun for me and it was something that I was pretty good at.  It is one of those things that I regret stopping and something that hopefully some day I will be able to put back into my life.  For now, I need to focus on something new – something that is mine and not something that I have to share with anyone.  So, I started this morning and I will do exercise programs on tv/online for the next however long it takes.  My goal is to workout 5 or 6 times a week.  In addition, I will also be running around and active all summer again as I am heading back to work at a summer camp.  I’m hoping to get a jump rope to keep me and the kids occupied during our downtime – jumping rope is a great way to stay in shape.

The next thing I am going to do is try to help my eating habits… I am going to try not to worry too much about this for the summer as I need to focus on one thing at a time and I’m beginning my focus with exercise and getting my body back in good physical shape.  But I do hope to incorporate some better eating habits as well.  If anyone knows where I can look up healthy snacks that are cheap (I sometimes feel like I can’t afford to eat healthy…and if I had to pay rent I probably wouldn’t be able to afford to eat at all), maybe it will help.

My ultimate goal is to feel comfortable in my skin again.  If I had to put a number on my weight, I would say that I want to weight somewhere around or under 120.  This would require me losing a good chunk of weight – not something I’m going to share with the cyber world because I’ve already said that I’m not comfortable with it.  However, if getting to 120 isn’t possible that is okay as long as I become slimmer (because I know I can be slimmer and still look healthy) and more toned.

So, here’s to getting healthy!  Hopefully, I will stick with it this time and not give up on myself because things aren’t happening as quickly as I’d like.  Hopefully, it will work and I will be happy with my body again shortly.  I’m going to put in the time now to lose the weight (somewhat quickly, hopefully) and then I will maintain it as well.

Have you ever had to lose weight?  Have you ever wanted to lose weight?  How do you go about doing it?

Leave a Reply

