Old Friends

The best kind of friends are old friends.  I have recently been able to hang out with some of my old friends – those friends that I have known and been friends with for a very long time.  It helps me appreciate the friendships that I have in my life and it helps me appreciate the times that I’ve had in my life.

A few weeks ago, my good friend was in town from Vermont and we were able to hang out and have a dinner/movie date night – which we haven’t ever done I don’t think.  I had such a good time with her.  We know each other so well and we were able to reminisce but also keep in touch with reality and how things were going now.  I know that she and I will always be friends and will hopefully always find time to see each other at least once every few years because I would hate to completely lose touch with her.

I have also recently been able to reconnect with an old friend who is still in town.  We have started watching “The Bachelorette” together and it’s been absolutely fantastic because we both love the show and we are also able to catch up and talk about things.  We actually had a talk about old friends tonight and how great it is to stay in touch with them and hang out with them because we don’t have to worry about being ourselves and we don’t have to worry about the fact that we have changed and grown because we won’t judge one another.

I will be seeing one of my best friends this weekend.  She is also an old friend.  She is going to be getting married and I am one of her bridesmaids.  I am honored and feel so touched that she chose me to be a part of her special day and I am so excited and happy for her.  It is going to be such a fun weekend filled with old friends and new times.  It’s going to be a mix of everything that my life has been up until this point and it’s just going to be so fantastic to be a part of it and to have a good time.  I can’t wait to see her and help her start her lifetime with her husband.

This does not mean that I dislike or value my “new” friends less than anything.  It actually makes me really happy for the days when I know that they are “old” friends because my two best friends are like old friends to me already – I know I can be myself with them and I can talk to them about things that I might not want to talk to old friends about.  I don’t know where I would be in my life without my friends and I love all of them very much.

Do you feel a stronger connection with certain types of friends?

Leave a Reply

